Oh, Shenandoah…

It’s been a few weeks – sorry about that. I keep meaning to post more often so that I keep everyone updated!

Last Sunday, July 31, we arrived at Calf Mountain Shelter in the Shenandoah National Park – mile marker 869 of the Appalachian Trail, after I had a nice lunch and stop at a brewery with my friends Eric and Christina.

Stryder and I met another hiker, Freight Train, just a couple weeks before and he’d been sticking with us ever since. Though as I’ll share, he has now hiked ahead of us.

Over the course of the week we spent in the Shenadoah Mountains, we met quite a cadre new folks. Snips, Jury Duty, Golf (who we met some time before), Survivor Man, HOI, Vintage, GarBear, Megan, Kyle, the boys from BSA Troop 641, the boys from the Trail Life USA group, the kids and counselors from the Quaker summer camp – plus a ton of day hikers and tourists.

By the time we left the Shenandoahs, we had made a ton of new friends. It was sad to see so many have to leave the trail after their one or two week hiking trips were up.

I know this isn’t much of a post – but I am short on time and need to get going… but it was nice to see De today. We had a nice lunch and shared stories. Can’t wait to share more with you all soon.

A special thanks to everyone who has given to paypal.me/trekreef to help keep me on the trail! It was a very close call to ending my hike the other day and every dollar you gave has helped me continue my resupply. I promise to post more from Harper’s Ferry!

Live Long and Prosper.

